au pair / SWITZERLAND

Day #14: Journey to Switzerland

I was very excited for this trip for many reasons. I was venturing off to explore Europe, the family was taking me to an incredible location, but most of all, I was experiencing snow for the very first time in my life.

Whilst the journey to Nendaz wasn’t a long one, it was a tiring one. After flying from Heathrow to Geneva, we then drove for about an hour and a half to Nendaz. The last 15 minutes of the trip was both the worst and best part of the journey. We whizzed up the side of a mountain, on a very narrow road, through small villages built into the mountain. It was fantastic to see these quaint villages nestled into the natural environment, but the route definitely encouraged travel sickness.

IMG_8731

Upon arrival to the ski resort I was overwhelmed by the quantity and vividness of the snow. The snow lit up the mountains like a beacon. But actually touching snow was next level. I didn’t know what I was expecting but I found the consistency and texture of it to be astonishing. I fell in love.

IMG_8720.JPG

I understand that this post is possibly boring as it just consists of snow, snow, snow. (So hopefully the stunning photos included make up for it). However, this post encapsulates part of the reason I am taking a gap year – to experience new things.

I will be sure to update my blog about my adventures in Switzerland.

Love J
Leave a Reply

