SOMERSET / UNITED KINGDOM

Day #134: Bath

I am incredibly spoilt to have such a wonderful family. For the weekend of my birthday, my Dad flew over for a few days to surprise me. We had such an amazing few days together.

Apart from seeing the Queen (yes, this did actually happen), the highlight was our trip to Bath.

I wasn’t sure what to expect from Bath as I hadn’t heard much about it. My Dad visited when he was a boy and said that it would be a nice day trip.

Upon arrival I fell in love with the town. The cobblestone streets; The stone buildings; and the quaint ambiance. We both found Bath to be the perfect city break with cute, hidden places for brunch and winding streets to get lost in.

A trip to Bath is obviously not complete without visiting the actual baths. I was skeptical at first, as I usually don’t have a long attention span when it comes to historical things. However, to my surprise I thoroughly enjoyed my time at the baths. The information they provide, and the format they do it in, is really engaging. I also found that the history becomes so much more relevant and relatable when you’re totally immersed and surrounded by it, rather than simply hearing about it in a museum or gallery.

IMG_1201.JPG

After a few cheeky ciders my Dad and I decided to climb up to Alexandra Park. I totally recommend doing this if you ever visit Bath. You get an absolutely stunning view of the entire town. It is also a great, unique spot as only locals tend to go up there.

Processed with VSCO with f2 preset

I’m sure I’ll be back to Bath sometime soon. It is one of the many places in England that has captured my heart.

Love J
Leave a Reply

