IBIZA / SPAIN / travel

Day #172: Ibiza

Each place has a stereotype, it’s when you break away from it that you find it’s true self.

As part of my work I was fortunate enough to travel to Ibiza. All I knew before hand was the stereotype. The image of non-stop partying, which has only been enhanced by Mike Posner’s song I Took a Pill in Ibiza.

Instead of boring you with the ‘standard’ Ibiza stories, I’d rather share with you a couple of favourite things which are often overlooked.

Processed with VSCO with c1 preset

Processed with VSCO with c1 preset

The Architecture

The Old Town of Ibiza is a UNESCO heritage sight. It is one of my favourite places on the island. Dalt Vila is the official name of the old town, meaning upper town. It is so easy to get lost in the Old Town. So many winding, cobbled streets, as well as bars, restaurants, and shops. In addition to all this there are stunning views of both the harbour and the island from the many lookouts as the Old Town was formerly a fort.

Processed with VSCO with c1 preset

Processed with VSCO with c1 preset

The Food

This was the first time I had really experienced Spanish food. I fell in love instantly. I grew up eating a lot of sea food in Australia, but it was a whole different style of sea food. My absolute favourite dish was Paella. The combination of the ingredient’s  textures and flavours were so delightful to eat. Combine this with some sangria and tapas, and you are in for a good afternoon.

Processed with VSCO with a6 preset

Love J

 

Leave a Reply

