LIFESTYLE

Routine

I wrote this many months ago, before I left London. I love to read back and see how my feelings towards places, people and experiences have changed over time.

“It has finally occurred to me why London is good for me, and why I feel so at ease here…

Everything follows a schedule. You need to plan things thoroughly in advance and work around other people’s schedules – Citymapper is now part of my daily routine.

I was so afraid to leave school and to lose the security of the routine, but through coming here I have just fallen into another form of routine.

Whenever people exaggerate by saying Australian’s live such a “carefree” lifestyle I used to think it was such an idiotic and uneducated thing to say. Now that I have spent almost a year in one of the biggest and busiest cities in the world, I have come to the realisation that, in comparison to Londoners (and the likes of), Australians do live at a more relaxed pace.

This does not mean one way of life is more superior than the other. They’re just different, and I love both.

Returning home will be a whirlwind of anticipation, excitement, happiness, nervousness, sadness and so on.

After settling in it will be so important to find a balance between my life in London, and my life in rural South Australia.”

Love J
Leave a Reply

