travel / Travel Tips

Souvenirs

Throughout my time in Europe I collected many things – the traditional souvenir was not one of them.

I find the whole idea of magnets, and snow globes to be tacky and wasteful.

You may think this makes me sound like a grinch, but wait until I’m finished before you come to a conclusion.

The souvenirs I collected were film photographs, prints from my favourite galleries, and even clothes from unique boutiques.

IMG_3717

IMG_3721

But by far, my favourite souvenir was one you could not purchase. But one I orchestrated myself – a collection of postcards, with artistic photographs or prints from each place, with hand written notes to myself on the back. I would recount the adventures of my day, the way places made me feel, or even funny anecdotes from the people I was travelling with.

It was my special parting souvenir to myself, from myself. I can’t imagine finding something better to remind me of my wonderful travels.

– J

Leave a Reply

